Verkehr in Shanghai

Our knowledge for your planning

China Economic and Automotive Briefing - Executive Update –
Quarterly report on the short-, medium- and long-term growth of the Chinese economy and the impact on the automotive market. Target Group: Supervisory Boards, CEOs and managers.

China Economic and Commercial Vehicle Briefing - Executive Update –
Quarterly report on the short-, medium- and long-term growth of the Chinese economy and the impact on the commercial vehicle market taking into account the specific conditions that apply to this industry.

„China Early Warning Indicator“ Monthly update
The economic situation in China and regulatory changes have led to a different situation for the OEMs. They review their program plans and cut production for some models. This increasing volatility of the production is a challenge for the short term planning. With our report suppliers are able to see for how many days the production might stop and the number of vehicles that are not produced during this period. Our analysis takes into account all relevant programs in China.

„China New Energy Vehicle Report“
 
Electro-mobility in China: Between high Growth Potential and Regulatory Risks

The market for new electric vehicles (NEV) has been growing fast in China. After the subsidies end in 2021 we will see three phases in which different technologies dominate the NEV market. The market share for EVs will increase slightly until 2020, drop until 2023 and then rise rapidly. PHEVs are a bridge technology and 48V will play an important role for many OEMs in fulfilling the regulation in China.

In our report we layout the political and regulation framework that determines the above described market phases. We comment on new regulation drafts and explain why there is a high regulatory risk. For each OEM we created reasonable game plans for reaching the CAFC (Corporate Average Fuel Consumption) and the NEV quota. We explain the strategies of the international and Chinese OEM`s and profile 27 of the new entrants. In the profiles we comment on the strategies of the new players.

Besides we have a close look at the battery market which shows alarming parallels to the solar panel industry. No manufacturer is profitable, much overcapacity combined with massive price pressure. With OptimumNano, the third biggest battery manufacturer in China, we describe how a company is driven to the wall. We also give examples how the quickly changing regulatory procedures in China favor the local suppliers. All these factors will lead to a battery market that has all the risks of instability.

In the latest issue of our report we also added a chapter on manufacturers of electric motors in which we describe the main players of this very fragmented market.

Our report includes an excel database for Hybrids, Plug-In Hybrids and Electric Vehicles for the next five years in China.

Our latest report was published in October 2018.

„ASEAN Economic and Automotive Briefing“
 
Strategic outlook of the growth potential especially in times of difficulties in China

Indonesia and Thailand are the main production hubs, while Malaysia has built up capabilities in program engineering. Singapore, Vietnam and the Philippines will also be important. Singapore will be the main R&D hub and HQ location with its open economy and world-class IPR protection. Vietnam is excellent for electronics and also for textiles like seat upholstery including export to China. Vietnam will take away a significant manual labor-intensive component production from China. The Philippines are a major wire harness hub for the Japanese and international suppliers for export to China and globally. The Philippines are the „Romania“ of the Japanese.

In general cost is lower in ASEAN than in China. Some Chinese and international suppliers have moved production to Vietnam or the Philippines because of cost. The shortage of engineers and software experts in Europe also drives some suppliers to set up shop in Vietnam, Singapore and the Philippines, the latter also because English is widely spoken in these 2 countries. The largest global suppliers are first to move as usual, for example Bosch, Continental and Aptiv.

We forecast the market for light vehicles in ASEAN to grow from 3.3 million in 2018 to about 5.7 million in 2025. Currently the market is dominated by the Japanese OEMs, but there will be more room for other OEMs in future. This is already the case for premium cars, where Mercedes and BMW together have a market of 77% in ASEAN. Once Volkswagen takes ASEAN more seriously, it should be able to carve out a significant market share in this region with a rapidly growing population that is young and getting wealthier over the next 15 to 20 years.

For suppliers the main questions are now:

What are the growth perspectives of each of the 10 nations?
Which consequences might the trade war between China and the US have?
What is the footprint of the OEMs?
What are the strategies and footprints of international suppliers in the ASEAN region?
Are there ways to become part of the Japanese supply chains?

In our new report we answer these questions and give a forecast for the future.

The report includes an outlook on the economic situation of the different countries. It describes the segmentation in each country including share of production by OEM today and gives an overall sales and production forecast by country for the coming five years. The analysis also comprises for each country the OEM profiles including plants and models for domestic sales and export.

The report also focuses on European, American and Japanese suppliers that are active in the ASEAN region with details on location, kind of components manufactured, SOP and size of each location. For each country there is also a map with the locations of the suppliers.

Our latest report was published in October 2018.

„China Connectivity“
 
 
Connectivity is a focal point for Chinese customers. The car buyers are much younger and more internet-friendly. 70 to 90% of the buyers would pay for service. Especially in the area of security and navigation.
In our report we cover the following topics:

  • Profile of the internet players (Baidu, Tencent, Autonavi, Neusoft etc.)
  • Regulation and government drive (China 2025, Internet Plus etc.)
  • The fight for the consumer data in China
  • The role of the government
  • The danger of losing IP because of government intervention
  • Security issues in China
  • Strategies of the OEMs
  • Connectivity solutions now and outlook
  • User requirements in China vs. Europe and the US
  • Mobility Provider like Uber etc.
  • Consumer trends

Frequency: The report is updated twice a year in pdf-format.

„China Automated Driving“
 
Automated Driving is becoming increasingly important in China. 93% of Chinese are interested in this topic. The driving style as well as the infrastructure in China have specific characteristics that influence the solutions.
In our report we cover the following topics:

  • Connected and offline
  • Regulation and government influence
  • ADAS components penetration now and forecast
  • User requirements
  • Roadmap to fully automated driving (Level 4) in China
  • Insurance perspective
  • OEM strategies for China

Frequency: The report is updated twice a year in pdf-format.



Workshop
„Growth Plan China“

It’s starting to sink in, what the “new normal” means for China. The Chinese government tries to rebalance, deleverage and keep growth up all at the same time. This impossible approach will lead to even more volatility for the car industry.

Our workshops cover the following topics: :

What economic development do we forecast short-, medium- and longterm?

How high is the risk of a sudden crisis?

Which OEMs are better or worse prepared for the upcoming volatility?

Which clients fit best to your strategy?

Is it reasonable to increase capacity? If yes, where?

How can you make sure that your profit does not sink too much?

How do you prevent to work for OEMs that generate losses?

What is your ideal customer mix?

Other possible questions in the field of risk analysis:

What happens if the joint venture rule ends?



We would be pleased to send you samples and a quote. Alongside the regular written information we are at the disposal of our customers and prospective customers in an advisory capacity for strategic queries on the automotive market.

Verkehr in Shanghai

Unser Wissen für Ihre Planung

China Economic and Automotive Briefing
Executive Update
Quartalsweise erscheinender Bericht zur kurz-, mittel- und langfristigen Entwicklung der chinesischen Wirtschaft und deren Auswirkung auf den Automobilmarkt. Zielgruppe: Aufsichtsräte, Vorstände und Geschäftsführer.
China Economic and Commercial Vehicle Briefing
Executive Update
Quartalsweise erscheinender Bericht zur kurz-, mittel- und langfristigen Entwicklung der chinesischen Wirtschaft und deren Auswirkung auf den Nutzfahrzeugmarkt unter Berücksichtigung der besonderen Rahmenbedingungen, die für diese Industrie gelten.
„China Early Warning Indicator“
Monthly update
Die wirtschaftliche Lage in China führt dazu, dass die Automobilhersteller ihre Programm-Planungen überdenken und teilweise die Produktion für einen gewissen Zeitraum einstellen. Die Erhöhung der Volatilität stellt eine Herausforderung für die kurzfristige Planung dar. Mit unserem monatlich erscheinenden Report sehen Zulieferer welche Programme einem hohen Risiko von Produktionskürzungen unterworfen sind. Dabei geben wir unter anderem an um wie viel Tage die Produktion heruntergefahren werden könnte und wie viele Fahrzeuge voraussichtlich weniger produziert werden. Wir betrachten dabei alle relevanten Programme.
„China New Energy Vehicle Report“
 
Elektromobilität in China: zwischen hohem Wachstumspotenzial und regulatorischen Risiken

Der Markt für so genannte New Energy Vehicles (NEV) ist in China stark gewachsen. Nach dem Ende der Subventionen im Jahr 2021 wird die Entwicklung in drei Phasen mit der Dominanz unterschiedlicher Technologien ablaufen. Der Marktanteil für Elektrofahrzeuge wird bis 2020 leicht ansteigen, bis 2023 sinken und dann wieder rasch ansteigen. PHEVs stellt sich als Brückentechnologie dar und 48 Volt wird für viele OEMs eine wichtige Rolle bei der Erfüllung der Vorschriften in China spielen.

In unserem Bericht beschreiben wir den politischen und regulatorischen Rahmen, der die oben beschriebenen Marktphasen bestimmt. Wir kommentieren neue Regulierungsentwürfe und erklären, warum ein hohes regulatorisches Risiko besteht. Für jeden OEM haben wir ein Model-Szenario entwickelt, mit dem er den CAFC (Corporate Average Fuel Consumption) und die NEV-Quote erreicht. Wir erläutern die Strategien der internationalen und chinesischen OEMs und beschreiben 27 der neuen Spieler am Markt für Elektrofahrzeuge. In diesen Profilen kommentieren wir die Strategien der neuen Akteure.

Darüber hinaus beleuchten wir den Batteriemarkt, der alarmierende Parallelen zum Markt für Solarmodule aufweist. Kein Hersteller ist profitabel, es besteht viel Überkapazität in Kombination mit massivem Preisdruck. Mit OptimumNano, dem drittgrößten Batteriehersteller in China, beschreiben wir, wie ein Unternehmen an die Wand gefahren wird. Wir geben auch Beispiele, wie die sich schnell ändernden Regulierungsverfahren in China die lokalen Lieferanten begünstigen. In Kombination führen diese Faktoren zu einem Markt, der alle Risiken der Instabilität birgt.

In der aktuellen Ausgabe unseres Berichts haben wir auch ein Kapitel über Hersteller von Elektromotoren hinzugefügt und beschreiben die Hauptakteure dieses sehr fragmentierten Marktes.

Unser Bericht enthält eine Excel-Datenbank für Hybride, Plug-In-Hybride und Elektrofahrzeuge für die nächsten fünf Jahre in China.

Unser aktueller Report wurde im Oktober 2018 veröffentlicht.

„ASEAN Economic and Automotive Briefing“
 
Strategischer Ausblick auf Wachstumspotenziale in ASEAN - insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund schwierigerer Zeiten in China

Indonesien und Thailand sind Hauptdrehkreuze der Produktion, während in Malaysia Unternehmen Mitarbeiter im Bereich Programm-Engineering aufgebaut haben. Singapur, Vietnam und die Philippinen werden ebenfalls an Bedeutung gewinnen. Aufgrund seiner offenen Wirtschaft und seinem erstklassigen IPR-Schutz ist Singapur als Standort für Forschung und Entwicklung bestens aufgestellt. Vietnam eignet sich demgegenüber hervorragend für die Herstellung von Elektronikbauteilen und für Textilien wie Sitzpolster einschließlich deren Möglichkeit des Exports nach China. Nach Vietnam verlagert sich ein Großteil der manuellen Produktion von Bauteilen aus China. Die Philippinen sind ein bedeutender Export-Standort nach China für japanische und internationale Zulieferer.

Im Allgemeinen sind die Kosten in ASEAN niedriger als in China. Einige chinesische und internationale Zulieferer haben aus Kostengründen die Produktion nach Vietnam oder auf die Philippinen verlagert. Der Mangel an Ingenieuren und Softwareexperten in Europa führt auch dazu, dass sich einige Zulieferer in Vietnam, Singapur und auf den Philippinen niederlassen. Letzteres auch, weil in diesen beiden Ländern Englisch gesprochen wird. Die größten globalen Zulieferer wie Bosch, Continental und Aptiv sind wie üblich die Vorreiter.

Wir gehen davon aus, dass der Markt für PKWs in ASEAN von 3,3 Millionen im Jahr 2018 auf rund 5,7 Millionen im Jahr 2025 anwachsen wird. Derzeit wird der Markt von den japanischen OEMs dominiert, in Zukunft wird jedoch noch mehr Raum für andere OEMs vorhanden sein. Dies ist bereits bei Premium-Fahrzeugen der Fall, bei denen Mercedes und BMW zusammen einen Marktanteil von 77% in ASEAN halten. Wenn Volkswagen seinen ASEAN-Initiative stärker in den Fokus rückt, sollte das Unternehmen in der Lage sein, einen bedeutenden Marktanteil zu erreichen. Der Markt ist mit einer schnell wachsenden Bevölkerung, die jung ist und in den nächsten 15 bis 20 Jahren reicher wird, sehr attraktiv.

Für Lieferanten sind die Hauptfragen jetzt:

Wie sehen die Wachstumsperspektiven jeder der 10 Nationen aus?
Welche Konsequenzen könnte der Handelskrieg zwischen China und den USA haben?
Welchen Footprint haben die OEMs?
Welche Strategien und Footprints verfolgen internationaler Lieferanten in der ASEAN-Region?
Besteht die Möglichkeiten ein Teil der japanischen Lieferketten zu werden?

In unserem neuen Bericht beantworten wir diese Fragen und geben eine Prognose für die Zukunft ab.

Der Bericht enthält einen Ausblick auf die wirtschaftliche Situation der verschiedenen Länder. Er beschreibt die Segmentierung in jedem Land einschließlich des heutigen Produktionsanteils von OEMs und gibt eine Verkaufs- und Produktionsprognose für jedes Land für die nächsten fünf Jahre an. Die Analyse umfasst außerdem für jedes Land die OEM-Profile einschließlich Werken und Modellen für Inlandsverkäufe und -export.

Der Bericht konzentriert sich auch auf europäische, amerikanische und japanische Zulieferer, die in der ASEAN-Region tätig sind, mit Angaben zu Standort, Art der hergestellten Komponenten, SOP und Größe der einzelnen Standorte. Für jedes Land gibt es auch eine Karte mit den Standorten der Lieferanten.

Unser aktueller Report wurde im Oktober 2018 veröffentlicht.

„China Connectivity“
 
 
Die Konnektivität ist zentral für die chinesischen Kunden. Die Autokäufer sind deutlich jünger und internet-affiner. 70 bis 90 % der Käufer würden für Dienste bezahlten, vor allem für Sicherheit und Navigation.
Deshalb beleuchten wir in unserem Report folgende Themen:

  • Profile of the internet players (Baidu, Tencent, Autonavi, Neusoft etc.)
  • Regulation and government drive (China 2025, Internet Plus etc.)
  • The fight for the consumer data in China
  • The role of the government
  • The danger of losing IP because of government intervention
  • Security issues in China
  • Strategies of the OEMs
  • Connectivity solutions now and outlook
  • User requirements in China vs. Europe and the US
  • Mobility Provider like Uber etc.
  • Consumer trends

Erscheinungsweise: Der Report erscheint in englischer Sprache. Er wird zwei Mal pro Jahr aktualisiert.
„China Automated Driving“
 
Automated Driving wird auch in China zunehmend wichtiger. 93 % der Chinese interessieren sich für das Thema. Der Fahrstil und die Verkehrsinfrastruktur weisen für China jedoch Besonderheiten auf.
Wir beleuchten in unserem Report folgende Themen:

  • Connected and offline
  • Regulation and government influence
  • ADAS components penetration now and forecast
  • User requirements
  • Roadmap to fully automated driving (Level 4) in China
  • Insurance perspective
  • OEM strategies for China

Erscheinungsweise: Der Report erscheint in englischer Sprache. Er wird zwei Mal pro Jahr aktualisiert.


Workshop
„Wachstumsplan China“
Es beginnt klar zu werden, was das so genannte “new normal” für China bedeutet. Die chinesische Regierung versucht die Wirtschaft ins Gleichgewicht zu bringen, die Schulden abzubauen und gleichzeitig das Wachstum stabil zu halten. Dieser Ansatz ist nicht umsetzbar und führt zu einer stark wachsenden Volatilität im Automobilmarkt.

Beispiele für Themen die in unseren Workshops behandelt werden:

Wie ist die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung kurz-, mittel- und langfristig?

Wie groß ist das Risiko einer plötzlichen Krise?

Wie gut sind die einzelnen OEMs für die höhere Volatilität gerüstet?

Welche Kunden passen zu Ihrer Strategie am besten?

Ist es sinnvoll Kapazitäten zu erweitern? Wenn ja, wo?

Wie sorgen Sie dafür, dass Ihr Profit nicht zu weit sinkt?

Wie vermeiden Sie, sich auf OEMs zu stützen, die Verluste bringen?

Welches ist Ihr idealer Kundenmix?

Weitere mögliche Fragen im Bereich der Risiko-Analyse:

Was passiert, wenn die Joint Venture Regelung wegfällt?



Gern senden wir Ihnen Auszüge sowie ein Angebot zu. Neben der regelmäßigen schriftlichen Information stehen wir unseren Kunden und Interessenten zu strategischen Fragestellungen zum Automobilmarkt beratend zur Verfügung.